The Festival is always the last complete weekend in September. This year’s dates are  therefore rather earlier than usual so do mark the date now.
September 20th to 24th, 2017.
In 2018 the last weekend will be  almost a week later…

The 2017 Artists


NB  There are fewer car park spaces in the car park opposite the church this year, due to on-going council works, so come a little earlier than you would normally plan.

This year we have introduced pre-booking for allocated seating.  Its an experiment, but one we felt we had to try because of queues at the door.  Its on-line at  Or phone 00353 51 421255.  Do take advantage of it……..There is important information about the season tickets at the bottom of this page.

Although the programme contains a wide variety of composers, there’s a Hungarian flavour to this year’s festival. Two of our guest pianists, Zoltan Fejérvári and Klára Würtz are Hungarians.    He is making his Irish debut and she was a prize-winner at the first Dublin International Piano Competition.   Two of the brilliant chamber music performers are Hungarians – István Várdai on cello and Kristóf Bárati on violin – and we have a Hungarian musicologist, Endre Toth,  who will be enlightening us on the famed Hungarian school of piano-playing before each of the coffee concerts and talking about Kodaly at the student session.  Together with Finghin Collins these musicians will play at the three main concerts.

Another exciting “not to be missed” event this year will be the fortepiano concert on Saturday.  Kristian Bezuidenhout, the much admired exponent on this instrument, will perform on a specially imported fortepiano in a solo recital at 12 noon.  David Greilsammer will bring his imaginative linking of old and new works to his late night recital, Labyrinth, also on Saturday.   The astonishing young Russian, Elizaveta Ukrainskaia, will give a solo recital on Sunday at noon.  She has just won first prize at the Bremen Piano Competition, and we look forward to her Irish debut.

There will be a new and free Friday noon concert with Sean Morgan- Rooney, winner of the Brennan Prize at the last Dublin International Piano Competition.  This is specially aimed at music students but it is open to the public and all are welcome to join them at 12 noon.  Sean’s programme will feature a variety of short pieces, familiar and not….

At last we have introduced a Jazz Piano Day, Wednesday the 20th,  to start the festival,  curated by Phil Ware.  He is bringing in one of Europe’s most entertaining and well-known jazz pianists, the Italian Enrico Pieranunzi.  Phil and his double bass player, Damian Evans, will also be playing a lunch time concert that day in the church.  In the early evening, at 7 pm,  Phil and Enrico will have a pre-concert conversation about their jazz piano experiences prior to Enrico’s concert at 8 pm.

Continuing the jazz piano strand, Myles Drennan will be playing  two sessions, each an hour long, one in the New Ross Library at 11am and one in the Dunbrody Visitor Centre at 3.30.  Both of these are free events. These PLAY ME pianos will be placed in those venues for a week for anyone to play when they feel like it, so do take advantage if you are can.

Two things to note when booking:

1. The SEASON TICKET does not include the Jazz Day concerts.  This is to allow you to choose whether you want to join in what we hope will be a good cross-over audience.  So they must be booked separately.
2. When you start to book a SEASON TICKET online, the first date you see will be Thursday.  Fear not – click on, and you will find that you have the ticket for all the remaining concerts also.  If in doubt you can phone the theatre Monday to Friday at 051 421255.

You can download the programme on this page, and follow us on Facebook and Twitter for the latest updates.  Or email us  at if you want a hard copy and can’t find it in your local music shop.

It’s going to be a very busy festival !


“…a little gem…”,  “…innovative planning…”,  “…atmospheric charm…”,  “attractive acoustic…”   Some of  reviewers’ comments  about the festival

And then there are the pianists  – Cristina Ortiz, Freddy Kempf, Melvyn Tan, Norika Ogawa, Lisa de la Salle,  Nicholas Angelich, Sunwook Kim, Joseph Moog, Lilya Zilberstein, Kathryn Stott, and Cedric Pescia are amongst the 49 international stars audiences have had the pleasure of listening to over the past eleven years.


25 to 28 September 2014